Skip to main content

Speakers announced for 2nd Oxford Battery Modelling Symposium

Including keynotes from Ralph E. White and Saiful Islam

Poster Session at the Oxford Battery Modelling Symposium 2019

In 2019 over 170 battery modelling researchers from academia and industry came together in a friendly and inclusive environment at the first Oxford Battery Modelling Symposium to discuss the latest findings in the field. The event was initiated to bring together mathematicians, chemists, physicists and engineers working in this field, to learn from each other, discuss best practice, and provide excellent networking opportunities.

The popularity of the event was reflected in the number of high profile academic and industry representatives who attended, including researchers from many leading universities worldwide as well as industry delegates from companies including Siemens, Continental, Renault, PSA, BMW, Aston Martin, Williams Advanced Engineering, Johnson Matthey, and Comsol. Speakers have now been announced for the second Battery Modelling Symposium to be held again at Pembroke College Oxford from 16-17 March 2020, including keynotes from Ralph E. White (University of South Carolina) and Saiful Islam (University of Bath).

Dr. Ralph E. White is a Distinguished Scientist and a Professor of Chemical Engineering at the University of South Carolina where members of his research group are working on projects in the areas of fuel cells, batteries, and numerical methods. Their work on numerical methods consists of developing efficient algorithms to solve the equations that represent the phenomena that occur in electrochemical and chemical systems. Early in his career, Dr. White helped GM develop the software used to simulate the performance of the lead acid batteries used in the GM EV-1 vehicle. Since then, Dr. White helped develop the single particle model for lithium ion cells.

Saiful Islam is Professor of Materials Chemistry at the University of Bath. His research interests encompass computational studies of new materials for lithium-ion batteries and perovskite solar cells, with around 220 publications and more than 80 invited conference talks. A recipient of several awards including the 2020 ACS Award in Energy Chemistry, 2017 RSC Peter Day Award for Materials Chemistry and 2013 Royal Society Wolfson Research Merit award. Saiful presented the 2016 Royal Institution Christmas Lectures for BBC TV, entitled ‘Supercharged: Fuelling the Future’.

Other speakers include Professor Arnulf Latz (University of Ulm), Professor Simona Onori (Stanford University), Professor Jon Chapman (University of Oxford), Dr Charles Delacourt (Laboratoire de Réactivité et Chimie des Solides), Dr Kandler Smith (U.S. Department of Energy’s National Renewable Energy Laboratory), Professor Scott Moura (University of California), Professor Thomas Fuller (Georgia Tech School of Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering) and Professor Steven Decaluwe (Colorado School of Mines).

Full list of speakers

Registration for the event ends on 23 February


“The symposium had a very high standard and all the presentations were very interesting and informative.”
“Thank you so much for organising such an educational symposium. I was particularly impressed at the amount of thought that had gone into the balance of the subject matter of the talks.”

2019 attendee comments