Skip to main content

Department and Division Teaching Awards 2023

Eleven academics receive Departmental Teaching Awards; Dr Isaac Mear receives Division Award for excellence in teaching

Thom building photo taken in Uni park

Departmental Teaching Awards

The annual Departmental Teaching Awards were presented at the Engineering Science Faculty Away Day in June. Awards were based on nominations from students and faculty and decided by a committee of students and academics. Awards were made in three categories: Gold, Silver and Bronze.

Associate Head of Department (Teaching) Thomas Adcock said, “"It is a pleasure to reward some of the outstanding teachers we have in the department and to read the detail of the student nominations that are central to these awards. This year we were able to make awards to junior colleagues as well as two academics in their last year in post, Professors Wilson and Hills, who have educated many generations of Oxford engineers.”

The following awards were presented:


Professor Felix Leach - for lectures, project supervision and commitment to college teaching

Professor Paul Stavrinou - for outstanding lectures

Professor Tony Wilson - for outstanding lectures


Professor Chris MacMinn - for outstanding lectures and citizenship

Professor David Clifton - for outstanding lectures and lecture notes

Professor Wouter Mostert - for outstanding lectures and college tutorials


Professor Barbara Rossi - for outstanding engaging lectures

Professor David Hills - for project supervision and lectures

Professor Harvey Burd - for outstanding lectures and citizenship

Professor Perla Maiolino - for college tutorials and lectures

Professor Steve Morris - for lectures and class teaching


MPLS Teaching Award

Dr Isaac Mear, Teaching & Design Engineer, received a Divisional Award for excellence in teaching. The Divisional Teaching Awards scheme celebrates success and recognises and rewards excellence in innovative teaching practice. It is open to everyone who teaches, including graduate students, postdoctoral researchers, faculty and learning support staff. Awards are made on merit, with winners selected by a cross-departmental panel. This year, entries closed in April and 108 members of staff were nominated.

Dr Mear’s nomination detailed their enthusiasm, drive, and support they have provided to colleagues and students. The academic awarding panel, chaired by Professor Bonsall - Associate Head of Division (Education), were impressed with Dr Mear’s work to create the online site for MATLAB software, which provides students with a single location for all relevant information, as well as an online feedback system for students to complete during practical laboratory classes.

Professor Mike Bonsall, Associate Head of Division (Education) chaired the judging panel. He said: "The MPLS Teaching Awards are a fantastic opportunity to celebrate teaching talent across the Division and to recognise excellence. We had our work cut out this year, choosing just ten winners from such a competitive field of glowing nominations. They could have all been deserving winners. We were especially pleased to see so many nominees at earlier career stages as well as those who are further advanced in their careers. My warmest congratulations to all of our winners and to all those who were nominated."

Recently Dr Mear has also been mentoring postgraduates through the University’s Advancing Teaching and Learning course, for them to gain associate fellow of the higher education academy status; using the Digitally Supported Inclusive Teaching Toolkit and taking part in the Diversity of Student Experience Project.